STAR TREK: THE NEXT GENERATION CUSTOMIZABLE CARD GAME

OFFICIAL FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS LIST

Released 12/19/96

The following information is copyrighted by Decipher Inc. 1996; however, it can be freely disseminated online or by traditional publishing means as long as this copyright notice is attached. TM, (R) & © 1996 Paramount Pictures. All Rights Reserved. STAR TREK: THE NEXT GENERATION is a registered trademark of and all characters and related marks are trademarks of Paramount Pictures. Decipher, Inc. Authorized User.

The information contained in this FAQ is the most up-to-date rulings on ST:TNG CCG. Rulings in this FAQ supersede all previous FAQs. In the event of a discrepancy between this FAQ and previous FAQs, the rulings in this FAQ take precedence.

To decrease the size of this document, some old rulings that are no longer "frequently asked" or now appear obvious. These rulings are still in effect, unless a ruling exists to the contrary. With every new FAQ, a separate document will be released listing significant changes. This document will be avaliable via the usual sources (see below).

Very little information on the Q-Continuum expansion is contained here. A full Q-Continuum FAQ and additions to this FAQ will likely occur in January.


TABLE OF CONTENTS


OFFICIAL ST:TNG CCG INFORMATION FROM DECIPHER

There are many FAQ documents such as this one that are available. In addition, Decipher Netreps are on many online services to answer questions and talk about the games. Official ST:TNG CCG information is available from four sources:

FAX Back : Voice (804) N2D-NEWS or (804) 623-6397
EmailBack : Send email to EmailBack@decipher.com with the word CATALOG in the subject line
WWW : http://www.decipher.com
FTP : Anonymous ftp to games.decipher.com

Please use the above automated sources to answer your questions where possible. However, Decipher loves to get feedback and suggestions, and if your questions aren't answered in the FAQ then we need to add them! Be sure and contact via one of the following:

Email        Q@decipher.com
Phone        (804) 623-3600 9-6 EST
FAX          (804) 623-3630
Mail         Decipher Inc 
             ATTN: Q 
             253 Granby St 
             Norfolk, VA 23510-1813

Finally, any requests for replacement cards (for cards that are damaged) or any customer service comments regarding our product should be directed to CCGCustomerService@decipher.com or to the above address, ATTN: Shawne.


PART ONE -- TERMINOLOGY AND BASICS

1.1 TERMS

AFFILIATION

Definition: One of the three groups in the game: Federation, Klingon, and Romulan. "Non-aligned" is not an affiliation.

AWAY TEAMS

Definition: An Away Team is any group of personnel on a planet. They do not need to be attempting a mission and their affiliation does not need to match the affiliation(s) on the mission. However, dilemmas affecting an Away Team refer only to the personnel attempting the mission.

All your personnel on a planet are considered to be one Away Team unless you annouce otherwise or they are of different affiliations, and no appropriate treaty is in play.

If one Away Team is stopped, for whatever reason, you may beam down another separate Away Team to battle, attempt a mission, etc.

If personnel from two separate ships beam down to form an Away Team and they encounter a dilemma that affects the ship, it would affect all ships they beamed from.

CUMULATIVE/NOT CUMULATIVE

Definition: If a card is cumulative, multiple copies of that card can be used and each will have their full effect. If a card is not cumulative, multiple copies of that card may be played at the same location or on the same target, but only one of those cards will have its effect.

Example: Phasers are cumulative. If an Away Team has two Phasers present, each member of that Away Team will have +4 STRENGTH.

Example: Static Warp Bubble is not cumulative. If you have two (or more) Static Warp Bubbles in play, your opponent will only need to discard one card per turn.

New ruling: Unless stated otherwise, all cards should be assumed to be not cumulative.

DISABLED

Definition: Personnel which are disabled (e.g., Data's Body or personnel affected by Ktarian Game or Two-Dimensional Creatures) are similar to personnel in stasis, but they may be moved or beamed in the same manner as equipment cards.

LEADER

Definition: A leader is any personnel with the skill of Leadership or the classification of OFFICER. A leader may not be used to complete missions requiring the skill of Leadership unless that leader actually possesses that skill.

A ship or Away Team needs a leader to fight effectively (see pages 26-27 of the rulebook). Some other cards (such as Arbiter of Succession or The Issue is Patriotism) also refer to "leaders."

NULLIFY

Definition: To nullify a card is to cancel and discard it. If a card is nullified before it resolves (such as the case when Amanda Rogers nullifies an interrupt), the nullified card has no effect.

The effect of a card can also be nullified without the card itself being nullified. For instance, Hugh nullifies the attack of a Borg Ship, not the Borg Ship itself.

"Destroy" on a card means the same as "nullify."

ONCE PER GAME

Definition: If card X lets you use a special ability "once per game" then that means you can only use card X's ability once in that game, no matter how many copies of card X you might control in that game.

For instance, Ajur's special ability may only be used once per game. If you use it, you may not use Ajur's special ability again in that game, even if you put another Ajur in play. You may use Boratus's ability, which is identical to Ajur's, because Boratus is a different card.

OUT-OF-PLAY

Definition: A card that is placed out-of-play is not put in the discard pile. Rather, it is set aside and may not be returned to the game by any means (Res-Q, Palor Toff, etc).

SHIP'S CREW

Definition: A ship's crew is the personnel on board a ship, staffing it.

When attempting a space mission, a ship's crew is similar to an Away Team. However, the two are not the same, and cards that affect only an Away Team do not affect a ship's crew, and vice versa.

STASIS

Definition: A personnel or ship card in stasis is both "stopped" and unconscious (unable to defend itself if attacked) for the duration of time specified by the card.

STOPPED

Definition: When a ship or personnel is stopped, that card may perform no other actions until it is "un-stopped" (which usually happens automatically at the beginning of the next turn). It may not beam, it may not move, it may not battle, it may not do absolutely anything. If a ship is stopped, all personnel on board are stopped.

There are typically only two ways for cards to get stopped. Many dilemmas can stop an Away Team or ship's crew. Also, battles always stop all cards involved in that battle.

Cards may be played on stopped personnel, but those cards cannot contradict the ruling above.

Example: You may play Auto-Destruct Sequence on a stopped ship, because the card does not require an action to be performed by the stopped cards.

Example: You may not play Emergency Transporter Armbands on a stopped Away Team, because a stopped Away Team may not beam.

TURNS

Definition: A turn is one segment of the game in which the player is "on the move" consisting of the turn sequence explained in the rulebook (page 13) of a) play one card, b) execute orders, c) draw a card to end the turn. Players alternate turns in the game. This is the order a turn must go in. You could not, for instance, execute orders and then play a card.

There are several potentially confusing things about turn:

1)

For example, the Anti-Time Anomaly says, "Kills literally ALL personnel on table...at the end of your third full turn." Here is what it means by "your third full turn": The subject is the person who plays the card. You do not count the turn you are currently in. You only count your next three full (complete) turns. So, you would finish this turn, and then the countdown goes through three full turns with the Anomaly striking at the end of that third full turn.

2) Who the card applies to is important for understanding the definitions of "turns", and the source of most confusion about turns. The wording of the card usually makes it clear who it applies to:

Your turn: Applies to the turn of the person playing the card.

Opponent's turn: Applies to the turn of the opponent (in a two-player game, the player not playing the card).

Owner's turn: This appears on some cards that play on another card, such as a personnel or ship. They refer to the owner of the card that is being affected, not the owner of the card played.

Some cards are a little ambiguous. If it is not absolutely clear, the general rule is that theplayer that the card affects is the person it applies to.

Examples:
If you play Telepathic Alien Kidnappers, the person affected by the card is the subject.

If you play a card on yourself, like The Traveler, you are the subject.

If a card applies to both players equally, such as the Anti-Time Anomaly, the subject would be the person who played it.

3) "End/Start of Turn" -- The end of each turn is signified by the player drawing a card. Anything that the cards say happens at the end of a turn happens just before the card draw. If you are prevented from drawing a card (e.g., Klim Dokachin, Q's Tent), then you may simply announce when you are done with your turn, after resolving anything that must happen at the end of your turn.

The start of your turn is just after the opponent has transferred the turn to you (by drawing a card).

If there is more than one thing scheduled to happen at the end or start of the turn, the player whose turn it is may choose which to do first.

UNIQUE/UNIVERSAL

Definition: A unique personnel or ship is one without the four diamond symbol next to the name. Only one of each unique card may be in play at the same time.

A universal personnel or ship is one with that symbol next to the name. Any number of universal cards of the same type may be in play at the same time.

Only personnel and ships are unique or universal. Other cards are not.


1.2 ACTIONS AND TIMING

Definition of "action" -- One single operation that you perform in the game.

Once you announce that you are performing an action, that action will resolve from beginning to end, without interruption. The action may not be aborted or changed without a special card.

When you announce an action, the opponent may respond by performing a legal action, but that action will not resolve until your action has resolved, if it is still legal.

Example: You start to move your ship and your opponent tries to play a Rogue Borg on that ship. That Rogue Borg will not resolve until you are finished moving that ship.

Example: You play Goddess of Empathy. Your opponent immediately decides he wants to respond with an interrupt. His interrupt will not resolve until Goddess of Empathy is on the table, at which point, his interrupt is no longer a legal play (due to the Goddess) and it must be returned to his hand.

Exception #1: An interrupt card that specifically states that it may be played during an action may be played (see examples below).

Exception #2: An action may be interrupted if a special card nullifies the action (Amanda Rogers, Kevin Uxbridge, etc).

Examples of actions include:

You must always give your opponent enough time to play Interrupts in between your individual actions. You cannot simply play an event followed by five Interrupts without him being able to get a word in edgewise. If you move too fast without giving your opponent a chance to react, he can make you "back up" so that he has a chance to perform the actions he wants.

If both players want to perform an action at the same time, the player whose turn it is may announce his first. Then the opponent may announce his action. Then, the first player may announce an action, and so on, back and forth, until neither player wishes to announce another action. Then, all actions resolve in the order they were declared.


1.3 THE COLON RULE/BOLDFACED LORE

A boldface name in personnel lore indicates that this card is the same "persona" as the boldface name. You may not have more than one instance of the same persona in play at the same time. For example, Jean-Luc Picard and Galen are considered the same persona.

The Colon Rule is similar to boldfaced lore, but it relates to non-personnel cards. Some cards have a name like

Kevin Uxbridge : Convergence

The colon in the name of that card is what tells us that the card is a "Kevin Uxbridge" card and should be treated as such. Therefore, any card that cancels "Kevin Uxbridge" can cancel this card. Any card that is "immune to Kevin Uxbridge" is immune to this card. This does not mean that Kevin Uxbridge and Kevin Uxbridge: Convergence are identical -- each card has their own function, but the two are grouped together when referred to by other cards.

The card "Countermanda," on the other hand, is not an "Amanda Rogers" card, and cannot be cancelled by cards that cancel Amanda Rogers. Just because the card has a picture of Amanda on it does not mean that the card is an Amanda Rogers card. In fact, Amanda Rogers can cancel Countermanda, because it is just another interrupt. If the card were titled "Amanda Rogers: Countermanda," then it would count as an Amanda Rogers card, and could not be nullified by Amanda Rogers.

A final note: Not that we intend for you to be English majors, but the card "Tasha Yar-(just one short hyphen)Alternate" is not the same as "Tasha Yar" because the first card uses a hyphen, not a colon.

To summarize: If two similar cards have the same name differentiated by a colon and a phrase after the colon, then they are considered to be grouped together in terms of how they relate to other cards. If two similar cards have a different name (even a slight difference), and there is no colon, then they are not grouped together. This includes personnel with boldfaced lore. Galen would not be affected by a card that affected Jean-Luc Picard.


1.4 SHIP EQUIPMENT

CLOAKING DEVICES

A cloaked ship may not:

In general, a cloaked ship is immune to "external" interrupts and events. If an interrupt or event is "caused" by the action of some outside force, then the ship is immune to it. If the interrupt or event is an "internal" event that could logically happen to a cloaked ship, it does have its effect.

For example, a Plasma Fire can happen aboard a ship whether it is cloaked or not, and thus this card can be played on a cloaked ship. Other examples of "natural effects" are Temporal Rifts, Wormholes and Warp Core Breaches.

On the other hand, a Scan card doesn't make sense to play since a cloaked ship cannot be scanned, by definition. Your opponent initiates a scan -- it is not a natural phenomenon. Cards such as Isabella or Rogue Borg Mercenaries are other examples. They requires some outside force to act upon a ship. This distinction is usually obvious from the card.

The obvious exceptions to this rule are cards that specifically target cloaked ships, such as Tachyon Detection Grid or La Forge Maneuver.

TRACTOR BEAMS

In general, a Tractor Beam cannot do anything (such as tow ships around) without the use of a special card, such as Ship Seizure.

LONG-RANGE SCAN SHIELDING

This equipment, found on the Mercenary Ship, renders that ship immune to the card "Long-Range Scan."


1.5 MISCELLANEOUS RULES

Cards "played as" other cards -- A card that says it is "played as" another type of card does not count as both card types. For instance, an artifact that plays as an Event cannot be protected by Rishon Uxbridge. However, Kevin Uxbridge could still destroy such a card because Kevin specifically says he may destroy an artifact played as an event.

Showing cards -- Page 29 of the rulebook states that only personnel at an outpost are required to be placed face-up on the table for the opponent to see. Once they board a ship, the opponent may only view the cards if a special card allows him to or if you need to prove that you have a certain personnel or skill present, such as when overcoming a dilemma or completing a mission.

Discard piles -- You may not look at any discard pile, yours or your opponent's, during the game, unless a special card, such as Res-Q allows you to. You must discard face up, though, and anytime you retrieve a card from your discard pile, you must show it to your opponent.

Exhausted deck -- The very instant a player runs out of cards in his deck, the game ends immediately. The player does not finish his or her turn.

Multiple multipliers -- If you have cards that add and multiply to the statistics of a ship or personnel, you can apply the modifiers in any order, preferably in the order that would give you the highest total!

However, if something changes a value outright, instead of adding or subtracting, that modification is handled first and is treated as if it were printed on the card itself. For example, if a ship has a range of 8 and is damaged, its range is reduced to 5. If that ship gets a -2 to its range, the range is 3. You do not subtract 2 from the original range of 8 and then lower to 5. Frame of Mind is also an example of a card that "sets" a value, rather than modifying it.

Negative points -- If you encounter a card that has a negative point value, your score is reduced by those points. This may cause your score to become negative. For example, if, on your first turn, you encounter a dilemma with a -10 point value, your score is negative 10, and you will need to score 110 additional points to win.


PART TWO -- GAME ACTIONS

2.1 MISSIONS AND DILEMMAS

Errata: The first sentence following the italicized text on page 22 of the rulebook should read

"Before completing a mission, a player must first overcome any and all dilemmas at that location." instead of "Before attempting a mission...."

Once a mission attempt is begun it may not be aborted unless:

You must have at least one personnel in your Away Team or ship's crew that matches one of the mission's affiliation icons in order to attempt or complete the mission (even if you have a Treaty in effect). If you lose all properly-affiliated personnel during the mission attempt, due to dilemmas, you still must continue, but you will not be able to complete and score the mission.

DILEMMAS and TIMING

Attempting a mission, from start to finish, is one action (see definition of "Action," above). As with other actions, this may not be interrupted by other actions except as follows:

Each dilemma is considered to be a "mini-action" within the greater action of the mission attempt. Therefore, as soon as it is flipped over, an interrupt card may not interrupt a dilemma, unless the interrupt itself specifically says that it can be played during a dilemma or that it cancels the dilemma. Examples of cards that can be played during a dilemma are Eyes in the Dark, Q2, and Howard Heirloom Candle.

You may play interrupts between dilemmas, or after the initial announcement of the mission attempt (but before the first dilemma is encountered).

A Q-Flash and all Q-icon cards encountered is considered to be one dilemma. You cannot interrupt the individual Q-Icon cards (unless, of course, a card would normally allow this or nullify a Q-icon card).

DILEMMAS -- STOPPED AND DISCARDING

Note: The following section does not apply to Q-icon dilemmas.

Each dilemma can have any or all of five components:

TRIGGER -- An element that must be present for the dilemma to have any effect whatsoever. This is stated at the beginning of the dilemma and is often preceded by the word "if".

Examples:

If the trigger is not present, the dilemma is immediately discarded and has no effect.

The presence of a ship is also a trigger, if the card reads "Play on ship", or if it specifically targets a ship and not the personnel on that ship. If a ship is not present (ie, a dilemma encountered at the outpost), the dilemma is discarded.

CONDITIONS -- One or more skills, personnel, equipment, attribute totals, or other qualities that must be present to avoid the ill effects of a dilemma, often used with "unless." Examples:

Conditions are the key to determining if a dilemma stops you and if it is discarded after being encountered (see below).

TARGETS -- A type of card that the dilemma affects. The presence or absence of a target in the crew or Away Team has no effect on the discarding of the dilemma or whether it stops you. Examples:

In the first case Empathy is the target. In the second case, (CUNNING+INTEGRITY) < 12 is the target. In the third case an odd CUNNING is the target that will be affected. In the last case, a male is the target.

Planet dilemmas often assume that you have an Away Team (and people in it) and Space dilemmas often assume that you have a ship (and crew) present. Also, many dilemmas with triggers also assume that the trigger is present. For purposes of these definitions, none of these are considered targets.

CURE -- One or more skills, personnel, equipment, or other qualities that can be present after a dilemma has had an effect (usually an ongoing effect) to cancel its effects. Diseases most commonly have cures. Dilemmas that have an effect at a later time, but can be avoided, are also assumed to have cures (see the third example, below). An action, such as returning a ship to the outpost, can also be a cure. When a cure is met, the dilemma is discarded (unless it has a point value -- see below).

Examples:

Time is not considered a cure. A dilemma that has an effect for 2 full turns (such as Parallel Romance) is not considered to have a cure.

POINT VALUES -- A dilemma may have a positive or negative point value (or both) associated with it. Point values given on a dilemma are scored:

Examples:

You do not score bonus points for a dilemma that is nullifed, or when you fail to overcome the conditions or fail to cure the dilemma. When you score points for a dilemma, place the dilemma in your bonus point area rather than discarding it, even if the dilemma would normally be discarded (see below).

Q: Does this dilemma stop me?
A: A dilemma ONLY stops you if you it has conditions (as defined above) AND you fail to overcome those conditions.

Q: Does this dilemma remain under the mission? Or is it discarded?
A: A dilemma will not remain under the mission if:

In cases 1, 2, 3, and 4, the dilemma is discarded. In cases 5 and 6, the dilemma is "played on" the appropriate place (personnel, ship, the table, the spaceline, etc), similar to an event until cured, expired, or otherwise destroyed. In case 7, the dilemma is discarded, unless it meets one of the other criteria in 5 or 6.

Note that while triggers and conditions can have an effect whether a dilemma is discarded or stops you, the presence or absence of targets have no effect on the dilemma. In other words, if you don't overcome a dilemma like Zaldan, it will remain even if you have no Diplomacy (the target) in your Away Team.

Again, when you score points for a dilemma, place it in your bonus point area, rather than discarding it.

Two Final notes: A card's text can always override any rule presented here. Some cards have conditions, yet do not stop you, while others may have no conditions and state that they stop you. The card's text is always the final judge.

Also, some dilemmas (such as Sarjenka or Edo Probe) have different effects. Once it is determined which of the effects will activate, treat that effect as if it were a dilemma you were just encountering and ignore the other effect.

For examples of these situations and other special dilemmas, see ALIEN PARASITES, BORG SHIP, COALESCENT ORGANISM, EDO PROBE, MENTHAR BOOBY TRAP, OUTPOST RAID, PHASED MATTER, Q, AND WORSHIPER in Section 3.2, Dilemmas.


2.2 BATTLE

Errata: The boldfaced lines on page 27 of the rulebook should read:

"If the attacker's weapon power is greater than the defender's shield power, the defender's ship is damaged. The defender's ship(s) now get a retaliation shot with the roles reversed."

All battle is simultaneous. If a defending ship is destroyed by an attack, it still may contribute its WEAPONS power to the retaliation shot. There is no "first strike."

A ship or Away Team needs a leader to fight effectively (see Leader under "1.1 Terms," above). Each ship participating in the battle needs its own leader. However, you do not absolutely need a leader in battle. You can initiate a battle without a leader, but you will lose that battle (if in an Away Team) or your ship will be only be able to defend with its SHIELDS.

Battle always "stops" all cards involved in that battle, including personnel at an outpost, if the outpost was attacked.

BATTLE RESTRICTIONS:

In addition to the rules on page 28, there are a few things to keep in mind:

"Forces" include personnel and ships. Non-aligned personnel on a Federation ship is a Federation force, and is subject to all Federation-related restrictions. Romulan personnel on a non-aligned ship is a Romulan force and is subject to all Romulan-related restrictions. Romulans on a Klingon ship (assuming a treaty is in play) is a Romulan/Klingon force and is subject to all restrictions placed on both affiliations. Non-aligned forces have no battle restrictions. Personnel under "house arrest" on a ship are not part of the crew and do not lend their affiliation to this definition.

Without the aid of special cards, such as Conundrum or Attack Authorization, or as part of a retaliation, Federation forces may not initiate a battle, ever. Similarly, Romulans may not initiate a battle against other Romulans, except as part of a retaliation, without a special card (such as Tal Shiar skill) that allows them to.

If attacked on the previous turn, your forces may attack your opponent's forces (either ships or Away Teams) at the same location, regardless of affiliations. You may also bring reinforcements to that location to continue the battle. If either force moves away and does not return for the rest of the turn, the ongoing battle is over and normal battle rules go back into effect.

Forces from one of your affiliations may aid forces from another affiliation if the proper treaty is in play. If it is not, the two sets of forces may not participate in a battle together, though they could attack separately.

You may not battle your own forces, without the help of a special card, such as Attack Authorization. Also, the Tal Shiar skill can be used to attack your own Romulans.


2.3 BEAMING

You may not beam on board another player's ship unless a special card allows you to. Currently, there are no such cards in the game.

In order to beam personnel or Equipment between ships, the ships must share the same mission location and be owned by the same player. No distinction is made for different affiliations. Therefore, you may beam non-aligned personnel from one ship to another of different affiliaton.

You can beam down the entire crew to a planet. It is assumed that there are certain "invisible crew" who perform mundane functions like beaming and keeping the shields raised.

Special beaming cards, such as Near-Warp Transport or Emergency Transporter Armbands, are a form of beaming and normally do not allow you to overcome any normal obstacles to beaming, such as Atmospheric Ionization."

You are not required to beam when moving between a ship and an outpost or from an outpost to a planet. You may beam, if you choose.


PART THREE -- INDIVIDUAL CARD RULINGS

3.1 MISSIONS

BRUTE FORCE --
In your entire Away Team (which must have at least 3 personnel in it), the total STRENGTH of the Away Team must be greater than 10 times the number of personnel in the Away Team. Cards that modify STRENGTH numbers do count when determining this total. The Echo Papa 607 will not help because it is only "used during Away Team or
Rogue Borg battles..."

DIPLOMATIC CONFERENCE MISSION --
This mission allows you to temporarily create an all-way Treaty, but only during the attempt of that mission. You simply form your Away Team (with anyone you like) and attempt the mission as normal. You are not allowed any special provisions in getting the personnel to the mission.

FGC-47 RESEARCH --
The span can be different for every ship. You calculate the span by adding up the number of Navigation skills you have on board each ship moving to this location, and subtracting the total from 6. The result is the span number. For example if a Runabout is crossing the mission with Sito Jaxa and McKnight (that's 2 Navigation) the span is 4 (6 - 2 = 4). The minimum span is one (any Navigation skills after the fifth don't help).

INVESTIGATE TIME CONTINUUM --
After all dilemmas have been overcome, you may simply show the Time Travel Pod from your hand to complete the mission. The Pod is not played.

KHITOMER RESEARCH --
Errata: The beta version of this card indicates that it is both a Klingon and Romulan mission, and it should be treated as such.

QUASH CONSPIRACY --
The less-than sign is not a misprint. "No ship-to-ship beaming" means that you're not allowed to beam personnel from one ship to another at this particular location.

WARPED SPACE --
The span numbers are not a misprint. They are meant to be a 5 and a 1 because the space/time continuum is "warped" in this region of space. The person who seeds the mission must use the 5 span number, and the opponent must use the 1.


3.2 DILEMMAS

ALIEN PARASITES --
Although this dilemma does have conditions, it does not stop the Away Team. The Away Team is now under the control of the opponent, unstopped. Also, the dilemma is not placed back underneath the mission until after your opponent is done.

If you don't have the INTEGRITY, the opponent gets to do with your ship and the crew whatever he wants, using legal moves. This continues until your opponent is finished or until the ship and crew involved are all stopped. He/she can deliberately endanger the crew, engage in battles, and attempt missions (and score the points).

BORG SHIP --
"Self-controlling ship (WEAPONS=24, SHIELDS=24). Start here. Attacks everything. End of every turn, moves 1 card toward and off spaceline's long end. Destroy for bonus."

Although the Borg Ship dilemma itself has no conditions and would not normally stop you, the ensuing battle will!

When it first appears, it attacks everything and anything in space at that location. When it moves to the next location, it attacks everything and anything there. If during a turn a player moves a ship to where the Borg Ship is and stops there, the Borg Ship attacks it.

You can "fly past" the Borg Ship by going over it, which is the main method of getting out of its way.

The Borg Ship attacks EACH individual thing in space at that location -- i.e, if it moves to a place where there are three ships located, it attacks each one of them with WEAPONS=24. It will thus destroy immediately most ships it meets (by "direct hit", see page 28).

Since there is no direct evidence in the series that the Borg can detect cloaked ships, it has been ruled that the Borg Ship cannot detect a cloaked ship.

The Borg Ship is a dilemma, and not a ship (but see the ruling for Q-NET). The only exception is that it is treated like a ship with respect to its battle. Its SHIELDS of 24 indicate that you will need total WEAPONS of 25 or greater to damage it. Damaging it a second time or attacking with WEAPONS of 49 or higher will destroy it.

Where No One Has Gone Before: the card says "your" ships, whereas the Borg Ship is self-controlling and not owned by either player. Therefore, WNOHGB has no effect.

Reversal: Previous ruling stated that to use the WNOHGB on the Borg Ship, you must play one especially for it. This option is no longer available.

Hugh nullifies the attack of the Borg Ship, not the Borg Ship itself. The Borg Ship stays on the table, it is just that it won't attack during this turn (unless somebody decides to attack it).

COALESCENT ORGANISM --
Because it has conditions, this dilemma stops the Away Team/ship's crew as normal. It has no cure, short of letting the afflicted personnel die without anyone present with him or her.

It can affect anyone who is at the same location at the end of the turn, no matter who owns the personnel.

When a personnel is afflicted with the CO, the CO is played on that personnel, so it would be fairly easy to "strand" that personnel so he wouldn't pass it on to other personnel.

CONUNDRUM --
When your ship is being affected by a Conundrum, you must chase and attack one opponent's ship. If his only ship is cloaked, you will have to go there and "hover" at its location, doing nothing but waiting. Remember, though, that you can only cloak/uncloak once per turn, so he won't be able to uncloak, do something, and cloak again, all in one turn. And, if he ever brings another ship into play, you can choose to go after it instead!

If at any time there is no opposing ship in play, the Conundrum is nullified.

CYTHERIANS --
Think of it like this: Cytherians give your ship and crew a new "mission." The ship basically is on a single-minded assignment to go to the end of the spaceline and isn't supposed to do anything else, although things can happen to it on its way.

You can't attack any other ships with it. If the ship is attacked by an opposing ship, it can defend itself in the normal way, but will not stop to counterattack next turn.

You can't cloak and you can't try to alter its mission with things like incoming message cards. The ship scores the bonus points only when it actually reaches the end of the line.

Normally, the ship cannot beam people off it or onto it. However, you may beam personnel aboard if they will be necessary to staff the ship or to get past an obstacle on the spaceline (e.g., Q-Net or Paxan `Wormhole').

The ship can be affected by cards it encounters on the spaceline in its journey -- including Wormholes, Gaps in Normal Space, Q-Net, etc.

The object of Cytherians is to get to the far end of the spaceline. How you get there (normal movement, Wormholes, Lakanta, Where No One...) is unimportant.

EDO PROBE --
The first case of this dilemma has no conditions but the dilemma still remains under the mission and you cannot continue. It does not stop you.

FRAME OF MIND --
The personnel may gain any two regular (not special) skills, as set out in the Q-Continuum Rules sheet.

HUNTER GANGS --
Cards which modify the CUNNING of Personnel, like Yellow Alert, are factored into determining if a Personnel is killed.

A CUNNING of zero is even.

HYPERAGING --
The Away Team can continue the mission while they are quarantined (it says "Mission continues, but..."), but can't leave the planet due to the quarantine. You could beam down others to join the mission, but they too would become infected.

To cure, you just need the total number of required SCIENCE and 2 MEDICAL present (infected or uninfected).

MENTHAR BOOBY TRAP --
This dilemma has both a condition and an effect that can be cured. `If the MEDICAL (a condition) is not present, the ship is stopped. If the second part of the dilemma is not met (a cure), the ship can continue to perform the mission, even though it cannot move.

OUTPOST RAID --
Outpost Raid has two triggers. The first case triggers if you are at an outpost. The second case triggers if you are not. In either case, you will encounter this dilemma.

Outpost Raid means you must have STRENGTH>81 if you are attempting a mission at a location where you have an outpost, whether you are doing it from a planet, from a ship, or from the outpost itself.

If attempted at a planet mission, people "left behind" at the outpost (not in the Away Team going down to the planet) would not be susceptible to the effects of the dilemma. The personnel at risk to the effects of a dilemma are always those in the Away Team involved.

Hugh does not nullify this dilemma. Hugh only nullifies the attacks of the Borg Ship or Rogue Borg. He does not nullify all "Borg-Related dilemmas".

PHASED MATTER --
The player has to split the Away Team, as described below. Only the smaller Away Team sub-group will be able to leave the planet; the larger group, being phased, can't leave until you eventually bring the needed ENGINEER and SCIENCE personnel there, which frees them.

To split the groups, the player simply makes two groups of his choice out of the Away Team, of any size or combination. For example, if you have 10 people in the Away Team, you could split them into groups of 1-9, 2-8, 3-7, 4-6, or 5-5. The larger-sized group is the one phased by the Dilemma. If you split them evenly (i.e. 5-5), then you verbally designate one to be the "larger" group.

One ENGINEER and one SCIENCE in either group will overcome the dilemma. This is the only way in which "phased" personnel can interact with non-phased personnel.

Q --
Treat this dilemma as if it had conditions of "2 Leadership + INTEGRITY > 60." If you fail to overcome these conditions, you are stopped (as normal).

When the locations on the spaceline are rearranged all cards at that location are moved as one unit. This includes dilemmas/artifacts underneath, personnel, events, equipment, and outposts, on top, and ships at that location.

Since most Event cards played on the spaceline are "on top" of the mission locations, then as above, they would move with that mission card. Exceptions are Q-Net and Gaps in Normal Space (and any other such cards which are not on "top" of Missions but instead are their own locatons or played "between" them), which thus can be relocated at will.

QUANTUM SINGULARITY LIFEFORMS --
Any newly arriving ENGINEER of any affiliation from any player may overcome the dilemma if they choose to do so.

Anyone may play the Emergency Transporter Armbands to release all ships caught in stasis. The listed conditions are just like the conditions of any dilemma: when they are met, the entire dilemma is nullified.

RADIOACTIVE GARBAGE SCOW --
If present at (towed to) a planet mission, that mission may not be attempted.

REM FATIGUE HALLUCINATIONS --
The dilemma is poorly worded. It is an exception to the normal rule that says that only the personnel encountering a dilemma are affected by it. If the dilemma is not cured it, the Away Team and the entire ship they beamed from (or ships, if they beamed from multiple ships) are affected.

You only score the 5 points by supplying 3 MEDICAL to cure the dilemma (returning to your outpost is a backup plan that does not score points).

ROYALE CASINO: BLACKJACK --
The CUNNING numbers used come from the personnel in your hand only. Modifiers, such as Yellow Alert, do not affect these numbers at all. Cards in play never modify cards in your hand and vice versa.

TARELLIAN PLAGUE SHIP --
An OFFICER with a Medical Kit may beam over to overcome this dilemma. Both must beam over.

Only one MEDICAL needs to beam over ("volunteers" is a singular verb).

TSIOLKOVSKY INFECTION --
A skill like "Diplomacy x3" would be entirely lost if it were the first listed skill. It would not be "downgraded" to Diplomacy x2.

Classifications in the classification box are not lost by the Tsiolkovsky Infection. If the personnel has a classification in their skill box (such as Vekor's MEDICAL), then it may be lost as usual, as it is the first-listed skill.

If multiple skills are listed following a single bullet (•), such as on Major Rakal or Juliana Tainer, they are treated as individual skills; only the first one is lost.

TWO-DIMENSIONAL CREATURES --
The Empaths are completely disabled, unable to do anything (as with a Ktarian Game). They are cured by either moving them to another ship or by meeting the requirements of the dilemma (which will discard the dilemma).

WORSHIPER --
This dilemma has two sets of conditions. If the first set (Greed>Honor) is met, score the points. If not, check the second set of conditions. If they are not met, the Away Team is stopped. If they are, the dilemma is overcome and the Away Team continues.

ZALDAN --
Phasers cannot be used to overcome this dilemma.


3.3 ARTIFACTS

CRYOSATELLITE --
The personnel cards seeded under this satellite count as seed cards to your half-a-deck maximum.

If you discover your opponent's personnel under a Cryosatellite, they are captured. If you discover your own personnel, but they are of the wrong affiliation, they are placed under House Arrest, as per page 30 of the rulebook.

HORGA'HN --
The double turns begin immediately. You are not required to take a double turn with this card. The Horga'hn is not cumulative, so cards like Temporal Narcosis cannot give you quadruple turns.

KURLAN NAISKOS --
Classifications listed in the skill box count towards satisfying the requirements of this card. A personnel with a classification listed in their skill box can contribute both their classification and that listed skill. The Naiskos requires only the original seven personnel classifications of OFFICER, ENGINEER, SCIENCE, MEDICAL, SECURITY, CIVILIAN and V.I.P.; it neither needs nor benefits from ANIMALs or any other classifications that we might create.

RECEPTACLE STONES --
It says, "Any space dilemmas you encounter..." Planet/space dilemmas are included, when encountered by a ship.

When you encounter a dilemma with this card in play, apply the dilemma to the other ship, as if it had just encountered it at that ship's own spaceline location! The effect the dilemma has on you will be totally independent of what it does to the other ship.

RESSIKAN FLUTE --
The Flute is worth a variable amount of points, dependent on how many Music personnel you have in play. If you had 4 in play, it would be worth 20. These points are not cumulative (i.e., you don't get 20 points each turn) and they can change (so, if you had 4 Music personnel when you discovered the Flute, you would have 25 if you put another out).

One way to think of the Flute is to consider it a completed mission with a variable point value. Normally, if you complete a 30-point mission, it is worth 30 points, now and forever. If you have a Flute out, it may be worth 20 points one turn, and 25 the next. If at any time your total points are 100 or more, you win.

It says, ".... for each of your music personnel in play...." It is only for each personnel with the Music skill. A personnel with Music x2 is still only one personnel.

SAMUEL CLEMENS' POCKETWATCH --
"Must" means "Must". You cannot use this card to perform an action that is optional (such as playing a card or moving a ship).

This means anything which is "scheduled" to happen next turn as a result of the instruction from a card, or from the rules (such as the card draw). The key word on the card is Must. Must is not equal to May. There are many things you May do next turn, but only a few things you Must do. If you're trying to take an action with the Pocketwatch, ask yourself, "Must this happen next turn?" If the answer is yes, you can do it. If the answer is no, you can't.

Here are some examples of uses (and non-uses) of the Pocketwatch (SCP):

Showing a Devidian Door -- Since you Must show the Door next turn, you can use SCP to show the Door immediately, so your opponent has no chance to get it out of your hand until your next turn. Note that you could not use SCP on your opponent to make him show a Devidian Door, because you can only use SCP on yourself.

Playing an Event -- Are you required to play an Event on your next turn? No. This is something you May do, so you cannot use SCP.

Time Effects (Temporal Rifts, diseases, Anti-Time Anomaly) -- If this is the turn before these effects resolve, then on your next turn, they Must resolve. Therefore, you can use SCP to "speed up" the process.

Cytherians -- If your ship is under the influence of the Cytherians, you Must move it next turn, so you could, in this case, use SCP to speed it along (keep in mind that this replaces the actual act of moving it next turn, so you could not move it next turn -- it used that turn's move when you used SCP).

Borg Ship/Sheliak -- These cards Must move down the spaceline on your next turn, so you could give them an extra move this turn with SCP. As above, they would not move at the end of your next turn, as they already used their movement when you used SCP.

TOX UTHAT --
The Tox Uthat is discarded after either use -- after a Supernova is played or after you play it as an interrupt.


3.4 OUTPOSTS

NEUTRAL OUTPOST --
You can put a Spacedock on a Neutral Outpost. This will allow any of your ships to be repaired there.

You cannot "mix" personnel at a Neutral Outpost without a treaty in play. Treat it like a non-aligned ship with "house arrest" rules as normal. However, you can have personnel from different affiliations use the outpost as long as they don't mix. For instance, you could play some Fed personnel there, and when they leave, you could play some Romulans.


3.5 SHIPS

EDO VESSEL --
Any method (coin flip, die roll, etc) will work for determing the 50/50 chance. Some people like to "flip" the card itself, with the result that if it lands face up it is "in the universe" and thus attackable, while if it lands face down it is not attackable.

GOMTUU --
Gomtuu's WEAPONS mean: If the target ship has SHIELDS 9 or higher, Gomtuu can't affect it. If the target has SHIELDS less than 9, then Gomtuu can use its unusual weapon. Instead of "shooting" the target ship, it "hurls" (moves) the target ship the equivalent distance down the spaceline of 9 span (in either direction, Gomtuu's choice). The targeted ship might end up 3 locations away. This unusual effect symbolically imitates what happened in the episode.

The target ship, after it is moved, is undamaged.

Gomtuu says, "... UP TO 9 span." This means if you wanted to hurl it less than the maximum distance away possible, you could.

When the target ship is "hurled" away during a battle like this, it still does get its chance to shoot a retaliation shot, as it would in any battle, and can hit Gomtuu with the strength of its WEAPONS.

A Q-Net "catches" the "hurl" of Gomtuu. When the ship is hurled away, it is out of control, and thus having the 2 diplomacy aboard wouldn't be effective since they would have no opportunity to do anything before the ship bounces on the net!

Weapon enhancers (such as Captain's Log, Data's Head, etc) allow Gomtuu to "hurl" a ship with greater SHIELDS, but does not affect the distance hurled. For instance, with Data's Head aboard, Gomtuu could hurl a ship with SHIELDS<11 up to 9 Span.

Empathy x2 is a staffing requirement, not a special ability of the ship. Gomtuu should be treated as a normal ship in all ways, such as in relation to damage, repair, Plasma Fires, etc.


3.6 PERSONNEL

DUAL AFFILIATION PERSONNEL --
To keep track of affiliations, simply tell your opponent which affiliation the dual-affiliation personnel is using when you first report it for duty, and then tell the opponent each time you wish to switch its affiliation. This change is an action that may be performed at any time, subject to timing rules.

Note that, whatever mode it is in, the dual-affiliation personnel behaves like a normal personnel of the affiliation you have selected. If you are using Stefan DeSeve as Romulan, he cannot go aboard a Federation ship or "mix" with Federation personnel (i.e. in an Away Team) unless you have a treaty (or unless you switch him to Federation first).

Switching the affiliation of a Dual Affiliation personnel is a game "action." For example, if Major Rakal is currently Romulan and the opponent plays an Interrupt on her which she could nullify if she was in Federation mode, it is not possible to first switch her and then nullify the Interrupt. Individual actions are played out in sequence, and in that case her "switch" would occur after the interrupt resolves.

HOLOGRAMS, EXOCOMPS, AND ANDROIDS --
A hologram, Exocomp, or android (HEA) is a personnel and should be treated as such. In general, apply the same rules to other personnel that you apply to HEA's. Although there are some similarities between the types, they are all separate kinds of personnel. Cards that affect Exocomps do not affect androids. Cards that affect holograms do not affect Exocomps, and so on.

They are typically affected by dilemmas the same as anything else. This is a broad topic, open to many rulings and interpretations. Several arguments can be made for why Data should be affected by this, and Holo's shouldn't be affected by that, and so on. Admittedly, some do make sense. But the last thing we want to do is list every dilemma and list why or why not they affect something. Most of the rulings we make would be based on what might have happened on the show if Data would have been exposed to virus X. The fact is, nobody knows what would have happend to Data in that situation, so it's open to much debate. Also, we want to rely as little as possible on the show itself to provide rulings so that people who don't know every episode backwards and forwards can still know if a dilemma works on an android. What follows are some general rules for applying dilemmas to HEA's:

Other rulings:

Mindmeld -- Androids and Exocomps may be Mindmelded with. They have a mind and if Spock could mindmeld with the Horta (a silicon creature), it makes sense he can Mindmeld with an android if it has a mind. No to Holograms, who do not have a physical mind to meld with.

Performing actions -- Just like any other personnel, holograms do not need any "supervision" to attempt missions or perform other actions such as staffing ships. They make very effective "red shirts"!

Outposts -- The Holo-Projector card says, "Plays on table. This technology allows your holographic re-creations to be projected and used on any of your ships or Away Teams. (Immune to Kevin Uxbridge)." Thus, it doesn't work on an Outpost (which are not ships), but will work on a holographic personnel projected onto a planet in an Away Team from an Outpost.

Death -- When a holo is "killed", the holo is actually deactivated. It will re-activate, on the ship, at the beginning of your next turn. If, for instance, you initiate an Away Team battle and one of your holo's is killed, it will not be re-activated until the start of your next turn. So, your opponent could attack you on his turn while you do not have that holo.

If a holo is ever not at the same location as the ship it is being projected from, the holo is de-activated and returned to the ship. Love Interests and Cardassian Trap, for instance can separate a holo from its ship.

Currently, the only way to permanently "kill" a holo is to destroy the ship it is on or the ship it beamed from (if the holo is on a planet).

Other than all of the above rules, holographic personnel, Exocomps, and androids should be treated exactly like normal personnel with regards to all cards.

KLINGONS --
Personnel such as Alexander, K'ehleyr, and Worf should be considered Klingons with regard to cards such as Klingon Death Yell, Targ, etc.

SPECIFIC PERSONNEL

D'TAN --
D'Tan's ability works on himself as well as on others. Essentially, he has an INTEGRITY of 8.

DATHON --
Tamarian-related dilemmas are Shaka, When the Walls Fell and El-Adrel Creature.

MICKEY D. --
He automatically wins the game for you if he is in your Away Team attempting the mission, not if he is in your hand. [no, this wouldn't work; the other guy's Mickey D. is not "present".]

PAUL RICE --
Once per turn, Paul may nullify one Echo Papa present. Paul Rice does not nullify your own Echo Papas.

TARG --
All cards which modify STRENGTH do have their effect on the requirements of cards such as Malfunctioning Door, which requires STRENGTH > 27 in four Away Team members. If you use the Targ bonus here, the Targ doesn't have to be one of the four personnel involved in lifting the door.

The Targ is a personnel and is fully affected by cards that affect males, such as Male Love Interest and Parallel Romance.

TASHA YAR-ALTERNATE --
Her special ability means that she and other Federation and Non-Aligned personnel present with her get the usual +2 bonus as if there was a Starfleet Type II Phaser card present.

She is not affected by cards like Disruptor Overload that affect equipment cards, which doesn't fit her category.

TORAL --
Toral's Leadership x1/2 is a strict mathematical interpretaion. It is similar to 0.5 Leadership. Any card or rule that requires "Leadership" requires one full Leadership. Therefore, Toral cannot solve a mission that requires Leadership, and does not count as a leader in battle (which requires Leadership). If another personnel with Leadership x1/2 were present, and you would have a leader.


3.7 EQUIPMENT

ECHO PAPA 607 KILLER DRONE --
The STRENGTH goes up by 10 after each battle. We apologize for the poor wording here.

The rise in STRENGTH happens only in separate battles, not in successive rounds of the same overall battle.

Like any other piece of Equipment, the EP 607 requires you to have someone there to use it. It may not work alone. The EP 607 contributes its STRENGTH only in battles.

TREATIES --
Anybody, anytime, can move or beam Equipment around, because they are "things". It's just that in game terms only certain affiliations can actually use that Equipment as stated on the individual cards. So, for instance, a Romulan Away Team cannot use Klingon Disruptors without a treaty.

If there is a treaty, then both affiliations can use the Equipment, because under a Treaty the allied affiliations share their cards "as if they were one affiliation" (page 30).


3.8 EVENTS

ANTI-TIME ANOMALY --
Errata: It will kill all Personnel in play. This does not include personnel physically touching the table due to cards such as Alien Probe, Cryosatellite or Zalkonian Storage Capsule, or because you happen to have your hand lying on the table.

Rogue Borg are not personnel, and thus are not included.

ATMOSPHERIC IONIZATION --
Up to 3 people can beam once, up or down, every turn (i.e. 2 down and 1 up or any such combination).

BARYON BUILDUP --
A ship with its Range reduced to zero is not destroyed. It simply cannot move.

CAPTAIN'S LOG: DETERMINING ELIGIBILITY --
You must strictly follow the rule listed on the card, which says that a ship gets benefits if any of "...your personnel are aboard a ship he or she ‘captained' or ‘commanded' (as referenced on ship card lore)..." This strict definition makes it reasonably easy to determine this benefit, whereas Personnel lore and players' knowledge are too murky and debatable.

SHIP LIST FOR "CAPTAIN'S LOG" BENEFITS

Enterprise -- None (1)
Yamato -- Donald Varley (3)
Phoenix -- Benjamin Maxwell
Sutherland -- Data
Hood -- Robert DeSoto (3)
Enterprise-C -- Rachel Garrett
Future Enterprise -- Admiral Riker (3)
Stargazer -- Jean-Luc Picard

Bortas -- Gowron (4)
Buruk -- None (2)
Pagh -- Kargan
Hegh'ta -- Kurn
Qu'Vat -- None (2)
Vorn -- None (2)
T'Ong -- K'Temok (3)
Maht-H'a -- Nu'Daq

Haakona -- Taris
Devoras -- Mendak
Khazara -- Toreth (4)
Decius -- Tomalak (6)
Terix -- Sirol Mercenary Ship -- Baran
Gomtuu -- Tam Elbrun
Tama -- Dathon (5)
Zalkonian Vessel -- Sunad (3)

Notes:

There are many reasons we chose not to include the Picard/Enterprise combo, even though we knew some fans might object. First, we all know that Picard commanded the Enterprise, but at various times so did Geordi, Beverly, Data, Riker, Deanna, and Captain Jellico!

Also, we wanted people to "bring together" ship and captain combinations they wouldn't normally play with, like Data on the Sutherland, Maxwell on the Phoenix, etc. Chances are, if you have Picard and the Enterprise in your deck, you're going to get them together anyway! For all these reasons, we defined the card the way we did.

ENGAGE SHUTTLE OPERATIONS --
Some uses for Engage Shuttle Operations are:

Runabouts are not considered shuttles, so the only two cards presently affected are the Type VI Shuttlecraft and the Yridian Shuttle. This is an error on some of the AU rules sheets.

A shuttle landed on a planet would be immune to "Loss of Orbital Stability."

GAPS IN NORMAL SPACE --
This card creates a new spaceline location (which is considered to be a "space" location). Thus, it can be moved to, rearranged by Q, have Tetryon Field played on it, be destroyed by Kevin Uxbridge: Convergence, etc.

The card specifically says that is is played between "two mission cards", not "between a mission card and another Gap card," so two Gaps cards cannot be played next to each other.

If destroyed by Kevin Uxbridge, the Gaps in Normal Space card is discarded, and the "gap" in the spaceline is closed up. If there were any other Event cards played on the Gaps, then these Events disappear with the Gaps. If there were any ships located there, including Escape Pods, Borg Ships, and other such things, the player who played Kevin would choose to which neighboring spaceline location these ships would be relocated.

GENETRONIC REPLICATOR --
You need two unaffected MEDICAL present at the time of a Dilemma's effect for this Event to work. If a MEDICAL personnel is "hit" by the dilemma, they may not contribute their MEDICAL to help work the Replicator. Dilemmas that affect all personnel, such as Barclay's Protomorphosis Disease, could not be prevented with a Genetronic Replicator.

INTERROGATION --
The way the scoring works is fairly simple. If the opponent says there are "five" lights, it means he gives in to the interrogation. You add 10 points to your score, and return the personnel. If the opponent says something besides "five" (we recommend saying "four", as in the episode, but any other reply gets the same result), it means the personnel is bravely resisting for another turn, and you add only one point to your score. In either case, these points are permanently yours. For example, in the following sequence the eventual score of a "10" does not wipe out previous "1" scores earned.

Turn 1: "Four" -- points scored: 1
Turn 2: "Four" -- points scored: 2
Turn 3: "Five" -- points scored: 10, and personnel returned to outpost

Total points for interrogator: 12.

If the Interrogated personnel is rescued (i.e., using Rescue Captives or other such cards in the future), you still keep the points you earned until that time.

You can Interrogate several captives at a time, but there must be an Interrogation card played on each one.

INTRUDER FORCE FIELD --
If your opponent plays 3 Rogue Borg, all are effective (not just one). The card simply states that three or more Rogue Borg must be played in order to be effective (the third Rogue Borg releases the other two from the force field).

LORE RETURNS --
When Lore Returns comes into play, he "commandeers" the ship (page 32), making it a ship under the control of the player and able to move around and attack. It then is a pirated ship and behaves like a normal ship.

You normally cannot beam aboard an opponent's ship, so you could not beam aboard a ship under Lore Returns.

The card says, "... your Rogue Borg..." Therefore, you cannot play it where your opponent has taken over your ship with his Rogue Borg.

PLASMA FIRE --
The ship gets damaged by the Plasma Fire at the end of each of your turns, beginning at the end of your next turn. "Damage" here means normal ship damage, like battle damage. Thus, normally if it is not extinguished the ship will be destroyed in 2 turns.

Q-NET --
Errata: "No ship (including the Borg Ship dilemma) may pass the Q-Net unless 2 Diplomacy aboard."

Q2 cannot nullify this card. Q2 can only interfere with Q-related Dilemmas.

RED ALERT! --
Once the Red Alert! card is in play, a group of cards played under a Red Alert! count as your normal card play during any turn. If you want to play an Event, you can't play any Red Alert! cards that turn too. This also applies during the turn on which you play the Red Alert!. In other words, playing the Red Alert! itself is your one card play for that turn.

RISHON UXBRIDGE --
Rishon may not be played on another Rishon.

SPACEDOCK --
A Spacedock does allow you to repair ships at a Neutral Outpost.

STATIC WARP BUBBLE --
Only cards in your hand may be discarded with this card. If you have no cards in your hand, you do not need to discard.

TELEPATHIC ALIEN KIDNAPPERS --
The opponent must show you the card you just guessed.

TAK specifies a "type" of card. Card "types" include Event, Interrupt, Mission, Dilemma, Personnel, Ship, Equipment, Outpost, Station, Artifact, and Doorway.

The card is guessed at the end of each of your opponent's turns, just before their card draw.

THE TRAVELER: TRANSCENDENCE --
All SWB's, yours and your opponent's, are nullified by this card.

Any further SWB's played are immediately nullified, as long as the Traveler is still in play.

TREATIES --
The rulebook says on page 30, "When a treaty card is in play, the personnel, ships, outposts, etc. can all be shared by the player as if they were one affiliation."

While a treaty is in play, personnel from one affiliation may report for duty at the other affiliation's outpost and may use their ships, equipment, etc. Thus, they can share the outpost. You do not have to have a personnel on the ship that matches the affiliation of the ship in order to move it.

Even when you have a treaty in effect, you may not attempt a mission without a personnel who matches one of the mission's affiliation icons (that is the purpose of the Espionage cards).

If a mixed crew under treaty is aboard a non-aligned ship and the treaty is broken, the affiliation with the fewest personnel present is put under house arrest. (See page 30, Treaties) In the event of a tie, determine randomly.

WARTIME CONDITIONS --
Since the "Wartime Conditions" card refers to declaring war against "the attacking ship's affiliation", it will not work against a non-aligned ship, which by definition does not have its own affiliation.

If you are attacked by the opponent's Federation ship (such as with Attack Authorization), you may play Wartime Conditions and allow the Federation to attack the Federation at will!

You may play this card any time after the initial attack. It doesn't have to be played immediately after the attack.

You can have more than one of these cards in play at a time, say one against the Romulans and one against the Klingons.


3.9 INTERRUPTS

AMANDA ROGERS --
If Amanda nullifies one end of a Wormhole, both parts of the Wormhole are nullified.

ANTI-MATTER SPREAD --
The card affects all your opponents' ships. You can play it for the benefit of the Borg Ship, lowering the opposing ships' WEAPONS.

ASTEROID SANCTUARY --
This card may interrupt a battle, after the battle has been initiated, but before a winner is determined.

AUTO-DESTRUCT SEQUENCE --
Playing this card is an action and thus it cannot be used during a battle.

BRAIN DRAIN --
When played on Interphasic Plasma Creatures, it lowers the STRENGTH of all the affected player's personnel by 4. This is a permanent effect (or at least until the IPC is destroyed).

COUNTERMANDA --
Amanda Rogers is the only card that can nullify Countermanda, as per the Colon Rule.

This card nullifies only one Telepathic Alien Kidnappers card each time it is played.

Countermanda "suspends" Res-Q or Palor Toff while you remove the cards from the discard pile. After Countermanda resolves, the Res-Q or Palor Toff proceeds as normal.

DEAD IN BED --
This card kills any one personnel in stasis (your choice).

DESTROY RADIOACTIVE GARBAGE SCOW --
The -10 points applies only to the point value of the uncompleted mission. Thus, a 30-point mission would now be worth 20. If the mission has already been completed, no points are lost.

This card will kill all personnel on an outpost (the radiation quickly overwhelms the outpost's SHIELDS; unlike a ship, the outpost cannot move out of the blast radius).

DISTORTION OF THE SPACE-TIME CONTINUUM --
This card allows a ship and Away Team to make another move, and thus may only be used if that ship or Away Team has already performe d a game action during the current turn. In other words, normally you may not use it to move one of your own ships during another player's turn. However, if you are somehow able to move a ship during your opponent's turn (e.g., with Alien Parasites), then Distortion of Space/Time Continuum may be used to make an additional move in this case.

EMERGENCY TRANSPORTER ARMBANDS --
"Any time" here refers to the ability to use it at any time since it is an interrupt (such as during your opponent's turn), but it does not allow you to overcome any particular obstacles to beaming (such as Atmospheric Ionization, being stopped, etc).

With the exception of Firestorm, this card may not be used to "escape" a dilemma that has already been revealed. See "Timing."

ENERGY VORTEX --
This card may not be used to stop a Devidian Door, since the Door is "shown", not "played."

FULL PLANET SCAN --
See "SCAN", below.

HOWARD HEIRLOOM CANDLE --
If played when Anaphasic Organism is encountered, the dilemma affects two personnel.

INCOMING MESSAGES --
The Incoming Message is an "order." You must do what is said on that card, and nothing else. You may not beam (except to beam people up to meet a staffing requirement), battle (though you may defend yourself), attempt missions, etc.

You must move at your normal full speed to the outpost, even if this would endanger your ship (such as making it stop on a Gaps in Normal Space).

Change: If you do not have the proper outpost in play, this card is nullified.

ISABELLA --
"Nebula" locations include:

FGC-47 RESEARCH (FGC-47 Nebula)
STUDY NEBULA (Gamma Erandi)
SURVEY MISSION (Mar Oscura nebula)
PAXAN "WORMHOLE" (Ngame Nebula)
and the universal NEBULA location

KEVIN UXBRIDGE: CONVERGENCE --
Errata: "Nullifies all Event cards at any one spaceline location (including those on ships)."

KU: Convergence would destroy all events at the location where it is played, including Rishon Uxbridge, but it would not destroy the Event which Rishon was protecting.

Events "on the spaceline" are physically placed on the spaceline (or on a ship). Nutational Shields (for example) is played "on the table" in your play area (see the diagram on page 14). Cards like Atmospheric Distortion, however, are played on a planet location, and are therefore on the spaceline.

See notes on Kevin Uxbridge.

KLINGON DEATH YELL --
If a Klingon dies and there are no other Klingons out, you can still Yell for the points.

You may play Klingon Death Yell on one of your opponent's Klingons.

You only gain 5 points for a Klingon, no matter how much Honor that Klingon has.

NEAR-WARP TRANSPORT --
You may use this card to transport through a Q-Net, but it does not allow you to overcome any "normal" obstacles to beaming (see Emergency Transporter Armbands).

You cannot beam from an Outpost with this card.

PARTICLE FOUNTAIN --
This card may only be played on your completed missions.

PHASER BURNS --
This card may be played more than once per battle.

Q2 --
If this card nullifies the Q dilemma, the dilemma is simply discarded. This is not the same as "overcoming" the Q dilemma, which would allow you to remove the other dilemmas.

Q2 may nullify the Q dilemma, Q's Vicious Animal Things, or any Q-icon Dilemma card.

ROGUE BORG MERCENARIES --
The general idea behind Rogue Borg is that you stock a whole bunch of these guys in your deck and save them as they come up in your hand until you have, say, 5 or 6. Five Rogue Borg, for example, combine to have an attack strength of 25 points. If Crosis is in this group, the total is doubled to 50 points (see his card). When you are ready, you can play them as Interrupts, in a group, right onto the bridge of one of the opponent's occupied ships (technically, you play them one at a time so your opponent can respond, but normally he won't). When you are finished playing Rogue Borg they immediately battle the ship's crew, just like in a normal "Away Team vs. Away Team Battle" on a planet, and they continue battling the crew automatically at the start of every player's turn (both your and your opponent's turns).

As in all battles, the loser of the battle will discard one personnel by random selection. If his crew is strong enough to defeat your Rogue Borg group, one Rogue Borg will be killed, but they will stay to continue the attack until they are all killed off. You may "reinforce" them with more Rogue Borg at any time. In any case, his crew members will be "stopped" for this turn and all subsequent turns in which the battle continues, because all battles "stop" their participants.

The opponent may beam "reinforcements" to the crew of the besieged ship. The card "Hugh" is another defense against the Rogue Borg. While the ship is under siege by the Rogue Borg, it cannot be moved by the remnants of its crew because they are not in control and are stopped anyway by the battle.

If the Rogue Borg wipe out or "chase off" the ship's crew, they win control of the ship. However, they cannot yet use it. They can only stay aboard the ship and try to repel an attempt by your opponent to recapture it. If you play the Event card Lore Returns, Lore will allow you to use this Rogue Borg crew to pilot the ship up and down the spaceline, attacking the opponent's ships (just as if it was one of your own ships). You will also be able to beam down and attack your opponent's Away Teams. Rogue Borg do not need a leader to participate in battle and they are assumed to meet all staffing requirements of the ship.

Rogue Borg may not be played on a cloaked ship.

SCAN and FULL PLANET SCAN --
Errata: "Glance at all seed cards..."

No ships or other cards are required to be in play for the Scan or Full Planet Scan to work.

SEIZE WESLEY --
You cannot play this interrupt while your opponent is encountering the Ktarian Game dilemma; you must wait until after it is clear that he does not have CUNNING>30 or an android present.

SENIOR STAFF MEETING --
Errata: The phrase after the comma should read, "after the mission attempt has been announced, before the first dilemma has been revealed, and when neither player wishes to play any other cards." Therefore, no actions may occur between the playing of this card and the revelation of the first dilemma.

If the first seeded card is a mis-seed, the mis-seeded card is ignored. Senior Staff Meeting says that the first dilemma encountered is discarded. Since you didn't encounter a dilemma, the SSM doesn't "use up" its effect on it. Discarding a mis-seed is not an "action," so no interrupts can be played between the discarding of the mis-seed and looking at the next seeded card.

TEMPORAL RIFT --
This card may not be used to "escape" a battle, because it is an action, which resolves after any other actions have resolved. See "Timing."

VORGON RAIDERS --
The "stolen" artifact returns to the opponent after the game is over.

You can only steal artifacts "in play or just played." Artifacts that simply have an immediate effect, such as Betazoid Gift Box and Blade of Tkon, are not "played."

VULCAN MINDMELD --
Example of use: if Sarek is present with Riva and Worf, Sarek could "meld" with Riva (or Worf, your choice) and add the skills in Riva's skill box (Diplomacy x2) for a total of Diplomacy x5 this turn. (Cards that `select' skills, such as Lal, K'chiQ and Frame of Mind, disregard skill multipliers such as x2, x3 etc. However, Vulcan Mindmeld `adds' skills and thus keeps the multipliers.) The mindmeld thus allows you to temporarily "duplicate" the skills of any of the people present in the Away Team, and you have the choice of which one. Each of the mindmeld capable people at that location can do this, and they may Mindmeld with different personnel.

Mindmeld cannot be used to "respond" to a dilemma, since playing Mindmeld is an action, just like any other.

Your Mindmeld personnel may only gain one- or two-word skills (such as Physics or Stellar Cartography), not special skills that are explained in a sentence (such as "May nullify Male's Love Interest where present."). They do not gain the other personnel's primary classification, although they do gain classifications that appear in the skill box.

VULCAN NERVE PINCH --
Errata: "Each of your Vulcans or Soong-Type Androids present may place one of the opponent's personnel..."

You may play more than one of these per battle.


3.10 DOORWAYS

ALTERNATE UNIVERSE DOORWAY --
When the doorway is open, AU cards can come through and be put in play. Having already come through the Door, they do not suddenly have to leave if the Door gets closed behind them -- they are already here. When the Door is closed, no more AU cards can come through until it is reopened.

When played from your hand, you may play it at any time an interrupt would be legal, during your own turn only. However, the Doorway is not an interrupt, and therefore cannot, for example, be nullified by Amanda Rogers. It does not count as your card play for the turn.

An Alternate Universe Doorway can nullify a Temporal Rift at any time during the Rift's effect. This is contrary to most rulings that do not allow you to affect Rift-ed cards.

ALTERNATE UNIVERSE CARDS --
AU dilemmas and AU artifacts need an open door to "come into play" when they are seeded. If the doorway is closed when the cards are discovered, they still have their normal effect. However, if an AU artifact goes to your hand (to be played later), you do need an open AU Door to play them back to the table.

DEVIDIAN DOOR --
The intent of this card was to simulate an effect happening before a cause. The effect is that a new card gets played (seemingly out of nowhere), and the next turn, the Devidian Door causing the effect gets played.

From a storyline perspective, imagine it this way. You're on the bridge of your ship in the middle of a crisis. Suddenly, out of nowhere, Picard appears and helps you solve the dilemma that you're in. You now know that, at some point in the future, you're going to have to send Picard backwards in time so that he can help you overcome the dilemma you were just in. If you fail to send that person back in time (show the Devidian Door), you have corrupted the space/time continuum and you lose the game.

DEVIDIAN DOOR USES --
You literally can play a card "to anywhere." Some examples:

These are some of the main examples of what you can do with the Devidian Door. We intentionally left this card rather vague in order to "push the envelope" and allow maximum player creativity. If you try something new with the Devidian Door and wonder if it is legal or how it should be allowed to play out, just use common sense, bearing in mind both the "storyline" of time travel it represents and what rules currently exist to handle what you are trying to do. You have to live with the result within the current rule structure. If necessary, we might post some limitations on what can be done, but for now, let your creativity go!

"Showing" the Devidian Door on your next turn may occur at any time on your turn, and is a game action. If the game ends on or before your next turn, you still must show the card. If you cannot, you automatically lose the game.

Ophidian Cane: Just after saying "Devidian Door" you may play the Ophidian Cane to allow three Personnel and/or Equipment cards through the door. If your Ophidian Cane is nullified, you are not required to send any cards through the Devidian Door or to show the Door on your next turn.

Energy Vortex cannot cancel the "showing" of a Devidian Door. (See "Energy Vortex" in Section 3.9, Interrupts.)


End